Why I’m Meditating Every Day for #MayHealth

Hello lovelies.

I have no internet at home so I am blogging at Tim Hortons, and it feels wrong to be writing about May Health while I munch on a donut. But hey, my challenge isn’t to stop eating donuts, now is it?Β It’s to take time to meditate every day.

If you don’t know what May Health is, it is a month long event where you choose a small habit to improve on every day and everyone involved supports each other online/in person. Okay, did I explain that right? Go check out the website, where they explained it so much better! It’s my first year participating and I am very, very excited.

So why did I choose to meditate every day? Well, it’s simple. I got to the point where my brain was so clogged up full of stress, anxiety, and OCD habits, that something had to change. When you have a conversation with your roommate and the next day you can’t remember if it was real life or a dream, it’s time to try something different.

meditate-on-this-i-will.jpg

What are some of the benefits of regular meditation?

  • Decreased symptoms of anxiety/mood disorders
  • Improves focus and attention span
  • Decrease in restless thinking/tendency to worry
  • It increases blood flow and slows the heart rate
  • Helps in building sexual energy & desire (bow chicka wow wow)
  • Grows a stable, more balanced personality

So here we are on May 3rd, and I have been meditating for the past two days. The immense amount of support I have seen flying around Twitter in the #MayHealth hashtag is amazing, and everyone’s challenges are so interesting! Again, go check out the website and stalk the #MayHealth hashtag on Facebook and Twitter to learn more. I’ll be posting regular updates on how my challenge is going on Twitter, so don’t forget to follow me there if you aren’t already.

Alright, time to go do the third day of meditation. Ommmm……Β 

Katie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

