My Quest To Conquer 250 Films

Hello lovelies.

As you may recall, I took the Oscars 2016 best picture lineup VERY seriously. Watched all the movies, made my predictions, and treated awards night like it was my birthday and Christmas wrapped up into one. I’ve always considered myself to be a “movie person” and took great pride in that as a child. However, I have grown old (okay, I’m 20) and dependent on my sitcoms. Sitcoms are easy and I love them, but does watching the same episodes of How I Met Your Mother and The Office add anything to my life? Not so much. So when I took a quiz to see how many of the IMDB top 250 films I had seen and only scored 27, I found my next movie adventure. It won’t happen today, it won’t happen this month, it may not even happen this year, but I am going to watching the remaining 223 films on that list.

12986998_10153645356047711_2424169374859992219_n

To get myself organized, I sat down with a piece of paper and wrote a complete checklist of all 250 films. Then highlighted the ones I own on DVD in pink, and the ones on Netflix in yellow. It was a long and tedious process but the list looks beautiful. It lives beside my TV now. The other great thing about this? Saving money! Focusing on watching these at home may keep me from going out all the time to see the new movies. I don’t have much else to say at this point but I will keep you updated on the process! I’ll be honest, I haven’t even started yet! I’ve been binge watching Daredevil, sue me! Damn Charlie Cox and his beautiful self.

If you are interested in following along, the entire list is here. Keep up with me and my movie-watching adventure on Twitter (@thatgeekonline).

See you next time!

16 thoughts on “My Quest To Conquer 250 Films

  1. The Shawshank Redemption and V for Vendetta are 2 of my favorite movies ever!! Also, I think you wrote on your list for # 53 Aliens, which is different from Alien singular. Alien is also a good movie. Good luck to you!

    Like

  2. I’m going to have to take a good long look at that list. I know I haven’t watched any (most of) the horror flicks, but I’ve seen a lot of what is there. I should probably take the challenge! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. This is such a fun idea. I’m 31 and haven’t seen most of these – I may need to do this list too πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Such a great idea! Hope you watch a lot of awesome movies! Don’t know if you know about Letterboxd, but it’s a fun site. It’s great for tracking movies.

    Like

  5. What a great idea for a project and it might open you up to a new type of film you wouldn’t have entertained before had. I think with the imminent arrival of my little one, and lots of nights on the couch for me and the hubs, a similar project will help keep us entertained! Thanks for the inspiration x

    Like

Leave a Reply

