How To Make Your Own DIY Sharpie Mugs

Hello lovelies.

My name is Katie and I am a mug addict. Seriously, I shouldn’t even be writing this post. I shouldn’t be making myself more mugs when I already have a collection of over 30. But alas, here we are. I have no self control, but at least that makes for some kick-ass DIY posts! Today I’m going to show you how I made my own DIY coffee mugs with sharpies. Super easy, super cheap, and they make great gifts! Or you can hoard them for yourself, no judgement here.

12976248_239105809775185_1600746704_n

Things You’ll Need

  • A mug! Preferably a light colored one so the sharpie shows up. You can buy yours anywhere, but I bought mine at Dollarama for $1.50 a mug.
  • Sharpies. Again, I purchased mine at Dollarama. I went a bit overboard with a package of plain black ones, some metallic ones, and a pack of colored ones. But you can stick to just plain black ones, if you want.
  • Inspiration! Scour the internet (or just Pinterest and Etsy) to get some serious mug inspiration.

IMG_1892

Step One

First things first, clean those mugs! Making sure the mugs are clean and any sort of dust or dirt is gone will make the entire process much easier. Plus it’s just always a good idea to clean dishes right after you buy them, you don’t know where they have been.

Step Two

Remember when I told you to get some inspiration? Now is when you will need it! Otherwise, you’re sitting there with blank mug and sharpie and no ideas! Go crazy! Let your imagination run wild! Maybe write your favorite quote? A reference to your favorite TV show? Or, just write a swear word. That’s what I would do (and maybe I did do it).

12965630_180444235681733_472379255_n

Step Three

Okay, I have good news and bad news at this point. The bad news? The fun, creative part is over. The good news? Pop those mugs into the oven for 30 minutes set to 350 degrees (Fahrenheit) and they will be ready for your morning coffee or tea! It’s VERY IMPORTANT that you put the mugs in the oven before it heats up, and you let the mugs cool in the oven completely before removing. This will prevent any cracks.

Step Four

Enjoy your new mug! Celebrate your epic mug success with a delicious hot (or cold, I don’t know your life) beverage. Disclaimer; I just took mine out of the oven and washed them. The sharpie is not as permanent as you would think, so be extra gentle when cleaning!

IMG_1922

If you do create your own DIY sharpie mugs, send me a photo on Instagram or Twitter (@thatgeekonline). See you next time! 

9 thoughts on “How To Make Your Own DIY Sharpie Mugs

  1. I’ve been wanting to try this! I have a plethora of mugs from various dining sets we’ve bought plus all of my favorite sentimental or geeky mugs. I’ve heard that there are oil based sharpies specially made for this. If you want to touch them up, check them out. It will keep them from fading too fast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

