Loving Yourself (Even If It Terrifies You)

Hello lovelies.

This past week I did something very exciting but very out of my comfort zone. I’m not a huge fan of having people take my picture, and I never have been. Being a selfie girl, you can manipulate the camera to make you look the best you can be. You edit it and choose what is uploaded at the end of the day. Maybe I am a control freak, but as far as the internet is concerned, I’m the cutest damn control freak you ever saw.

So when I was asked to be part of Grey Rock Co’s campaign in February, it was a mixture of excitement and sheer TERROR. “They choose the clothes? They take the photo? This is completely out of my hands?” But it was so lovely of them to want to include me and I would kick myself for letting the opportunity slip away, so it was time to suck it up, buttercup. My friends heard a lot of my anxieties, and whilst making plans to go in and have my photo taken, I forgot to breathe (a lot).

I have made the decision to put myself out there by being on the internet, so doing new things and scaring myself is something I have to get used to. Because I’d rather live a terrifying, extraordinary life instead a comfortable, ordinary one. So that means getting comfortable with being uncomfortable. Finding peace in the moments where your heart is racing and you are so far away from the normalcy of your life, that you just want to run away. Sometimes those are the most amazing moments of all, and they are so worth it.

The theme for Grey Rock’s campaign was “Love Yourself” and I’d like to think I was loving myself by having the courage to step outside my comfort zone. Because who wants to do the same thing day after day? Not me, that’s for sure. As for the the actual experience? Was not that scary at all. I got to wear a cute dress and Dallas, the lovely employee and photographer, was so helpful and kind. I’m so honored to be part of this “Love Yourself” campaign, and I hope my little story inspires some of YOU, the readers, to step outside your comfort zone. Love yourself enough to be brave and do something even if it terrifies you.

image

Well that’s it for today’s post. What do you love about yourself? Let me know in a comment below. And hey, if you live in Guelph, go write it on the Grey Rock Co window. 

Till next time, 
Katie

11 thoughts on “Loving Yourself (Even If It Terrifies You)

Leave a Reply

