I’m An Autobiography Nerd: My Top 6 Books

Hello lovelies.

So a couple days ago, I posted a photo on Instagram of some of my favorite books. When it comes to books, I am a huge autobiography nerd, especially when written by female role models of mine. So I thought today I would just talk about some of my favorites and why these women inspire me.

12479272_1526841634279701_1665611576_njkhjkj

1. Tina Fey Bossypants

Ah Tina Fey, one of my favorite female comedians. I purchased this book in a train station on a whim and have reread it countless times since then. One of the reasons why I love this book so much is because fun fact; I almost when to school for comedy. Yep, I thought I was funny enough to follow along in the footsteps of Tina and Amy and become a comedian. Clearly I am not doing that, but it’s fun to read about Tina’s life and the journey of her career. Besides, who doesn’t love to read behind the scenes tidbits about Saturday Night Live? I know you’re all as nosey as I am. Purchase Bossypants here.

2. Ellen Degeneres Seriously, I’m Kidding

Okay, who doesn’t love Ellen? When one of the kindest and funniest women in the world write a book, it’s almost a crime not to read it. This is the first autobiography I ever read, so we have Ellen to thank for my addiction. She’s a brilliant author and I recommend this book to anyone who often find themselves caught in that endless Ellen video loop on YouTube. You know what I’m talking about…you’re probably caught in one right now. Purchase Seriously…I’m Kidding here.

3. Felicia Day You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost)

Yay for internet people! Internet “celebrities” are some of my favorite people to read about because I can relate to them. So a book about a geek girl on the internet? Sign me up! You may recognize Felicia from her web series The Guild, from Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, or from episode’s of the CW’s Supernatural. She is a known name in the nerd universe and if you’re looking to understand the internet world a bit more, this book is for you. Felicia’s story is so unique and so funny that you will get lost in this book. Purchase You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost): A Memoir here.

4. Amy Poehler Yes Please

Amy Poehler is EVERYTHING to me! It is no surprise she made it onto this list. She could write a book on safety pins, and it would have made it onto this list. Amy Poehler has been one of my inspirations for years, from Saturday Night Live to Parks and Recreation. Her book is very similar to Tina Fey’s, with information about her career on TV, to stories from her personal life. My recommendation? Buy both these books, read them, watch Baby Mama, and then go see Sisters. And then invite me, because that sounds like a solid Saturday. Party on! Purchase Yes Please here.

5. Hannah Hart My Drunk Kitchen

Another internet love of mine; Hannah Hart. Hannah is the creator of My Drunk Kitchen, a YouTube show where well…she get’s drunk and cooks things. Pretty self explanatory, but still pretty amazing. Hannah has created this book that is part autobiography/cookbook/self-help/everything. So while you may not get a complete inside look at her life, you have the opportunity to cook some pretty weird s**t. Purchase My Drunk Kitchen: A Guide to Eating, Drinking, and Going with Your Gut here.

6. Grace Helbig Grace’s Guide

And what is Hannah Hart without Grace Helbig? Grace and Hannah collab quite often on YouTube and are real-life friends. Grace’s book however is a guide on how to be an grown-up. Which I know I needed, and it may help you too. Of course it is meant for humor but she does have some good tips. Purchase Grace’s Guide: The Art of Pretending to Be a Grown-Up here.


Well, there you have it, my top 6 books written by women. I hope you enjoyed this and some of these recommendations peaked your interest. Let me know on Twitter if you pick any of these up. And if you’ve already read some of these, let me know how you liked it in a comment below! I will absolutely respond and we can fangirl over female role models!

Till next time,
Katie 

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m An Autobiography Nerd: My Top 6 Books

Leave a Reply

