BE The Nerd.

Hello lovelies.

I like Facebook. I’ve always been more of a Twitter person, but I do enjoy Facebook. Do I care about Mark Zuckerberg and his life? Meh, not really. Dude has lots of money and from what I’ve heard, a new baby, so good for him. But Zuckerberg has recently flown onto my “support geeky/strong women” radar due to a comment response he gave a woman on Facebook.

Screen-Shot-2016-01-04-at-11.50.33-AM

Mark encourages this grandmother (and others) to encourage girls to BE the nerd instead of seeking out a nerd to date on the off chance he becomes rich and famous. Because isn’t that the only thing we want in a man? A ton of money? *eye roll*

Now don’t get me wrong, I love me a good nerd. We all know glasses are my kryptonite, and I always need help with my computer. But I’m also a huge believer that women are strong and intelligent. We can invent a website on our own, we don’t need your help! So kudos to Mark Zuckerberg for spreading the girl power!

tumblr_inline_n6ma3t1ISU1qhgk1x

But before we go all gung-ho SEXISM IS OVER, remember that words are just words, and only a quarter of the leadership positions at Facebook are filled by women (according to the diversity report of June 2015).  Only 32% of the staff are female. Which means out of the 10,082 staff reported in 2015, only 3,226 are “being the nerd“.

I doubt it’s intentional and I doubt that Facebook purposefully chooses NOT to hire women. But Mark Zuckerberg has brought some feminist attention to himself with that comment, so why not put that to good use? Create a more diverse team of employees and give each person a chance to be the nerd.

What do you think? Are there enough women in tech positions? Should Facebook even out its ratio of men to women? Let me know in a comment below or tweet at me!

Till next time, 
Katie

2 thoughts on “BE The Nerd.

  1. Great post! I’m not a tech person but it seems to be not enough tech women out there, like the film industry with its lack of female directors and crews. Encouragement and engagement is the first step, and then if that isn’t extended, women need to just keep breaking down the barriers. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

