Guelph Holiday Gift Guide

Hello, lovelies! So if you haven’t noticed by my #secretsantaguelph Twitter rampage, the holiday season is now upon us. And with that comes gift giving! So all my local Guelph peeps, this post is for you. There are so many incredible small businesses in Guelph that are the perfect place to find a gift for that special someone. If you don’t live in Guelph, I encourage you to take a stroll downtown in your city and do some shopping there. Explore your own city. It’s why I am so enthusiastic about living here, and ALSO why it takes me almost an hour and a half to walk home (I get distracted easily).

Also, I think it goes without saying, but I’m not paid to say any of this. It’s all from the heart. *Christmas hugs*

First and foremost, the best gift you could give AT THIS MOMENT is a donation to #secretsantaguelph. What I’ve noticed in the past week or so is Guelph is an extremely generous city, and you all should be very proud of that. So why not get together, meet some awesome people, and feed children in YOUR city? Sunday, December 6th. But you can read all about it at http://www.secretsantaguelph.com. (If you read my blog consistently, you know I copy and pasted that from a previous post. But it STILL STANDS TRUE. DONATE.)


I spent this afternoon wandering around downtown Guelph, trying to find my secret santa match a present. And in the process, I came across some super cute stores that should definitely be on your list to check out this holiday season.

The Dragon

Located in Old Quebec Street mall, this comic book shop is NOT JUST filled with comic books. It also has tons of fandom related games/toys/clothing items, books, and REALLY cute sales male associates (I’m not even sorry for saying this). Being a ginormous nerd, I’m like a kid in a candy shop in The Dragon, especially when it comes to the Batman and Doctor Who items. If THAT isn’t enough, they are also a sponsor for Secret Santa Guelph. So that’s pretty fucking cool of you, The Dragon. Go check them out. Some of the coolest things I saw in there today include; a BEARD GUESSING GAME, a “bow ties are cool” mug, and an R2D2 beanie. Perfect for the nerds in your life. Seriously though, a beard guessing game? Mom, I know you read my blog. I need this.

39e967400f773f2defcad1a5c976e624_f408

Grey Rock Clothing Co. 

Another Secret Santa Guelph sponsor! I promise I am not doing this on purpose….or am I? Grey Rock Clothing on Quebec St has so many great Christmas presents. Don’t know the person very well? Get them a pair of cozy socks! Plus, all their clothing is sweatshop-free, so not only are you being STYLISH, you are being ethical as well. It’s really a win-win for everybody. In addition, they just starting selling Bubble  & Fizz products, some great bath products (also an excellent gift). Stop in and take a look, you won’t be disappointed.

Guelphonography Print

Now if you are a huge lover of Guelph, like me, but you don’t feel like walking around downtown Guelph, HAVE NO FEAR. You could quickly, and easily order a Guelphonography print from the comfort of your home, in your pajamas. Doesn’t get much better than that. The top 20 this year were extremely beautiful, and you can check them out here. Stacey, from geeksandlattes, was in the top 20 this year with her photo “Chapter 5”, 0ne of my favorites!

12269727_1199477453400116_1566998627_n

Coriander

Okay so true story, I pay a substantial amount of money every month a bus pass and SOMEHOW I still end up walking home through downtown Guelph, because the window displays are just TOO cute. One that sticks out in particular to me is Coriander on Wyndham. Their shop is filled so many cute things and I BELIEVE they are doing some sort of 12 days of Christmas sale,which you can check out over on their Instagram (@shopcoriander). I completely recommend popping in to check them out. OR you can be like me, and just take photos of their window displays. I mean, COME ON, how cute is this?

12317784_979569132081430_140513736_n


 

That’s it, folks! Of course I encourage you all to take a wander around Guelph and look at all the shops, but here are just a few of my favorites. In addition, there are many great coffee shops who offer gift cards, and WHO doesn’t love coffee? I spend all my time at Red Brick, so I think we know who my favorite is…

But seriously, above anything else, a donation to Secret Santa Guelph. Go do that. www.secretsantaguelph.com

Till next time,

Katie

One thought on “Guelph Holiday Gift Guide

Leave a Reply

