Is Mental Illness a Fashion Statement?

Hello lovelies. I hope you are having an amazing Thursday and are excited for the upcoming weekend. I’m excited for this Sunday because it is the SANTA CLAUS PARADE here in Guelph. I like parades. And Santa Claus. But today is not about that, come back on Sunday for a video/blog post about the parade and my makeup/outfit (spoilers, I’m wearing Christmas colors). Today, we have to sit down and talk about the recent holiday sweater situation at Target.

Recently, Target released some holiday clothing, just like they would every year. Among said clothing was something we all love to hate, ugly Christmas sweaters. Unfortunately, one of the sweaters has caught peoples attention for being ugly in a whole different way. The sweater (picture below) says “OCD Obsessive Christmas Disorder” and although I bet Target had the best intentions, it offends a lot of people who suffer from mental health issues, including yours truly.

article-target-1-1111

I’ve stood outside a door for a half hour pulling on it OVER and OVER again because I’m convinced its not locked. I’ve had anxiety at work over small things being moved. I’ve adapted small little rituals into my day that seem unnecessary to everybody but make me feel better. I suffer from OCD, and I’m not ashamed of it, not one bit. But Target wouldn’t sell a Christmas sweater that poked fun at cancer, now would they? I don’t like being one of those hypersensitive “this offends me!” people, but this really does offend me!

We’ve spent a lot of time trying to eliminate the stigma around mental health issues, that when a situation like this arises, it’s frustrating because it seems like we are right back at square one. A lot of people took to social media to express their displeasure with this product, and as far as I know, Target stands by the sweater and doesn’t plan on pulling it from stores. Ah, Target, what are we going to do with you? When a company runs into a situation like this, its usually in their best interest to just apologize and find a way to keep the customer happy and loyal your company. But hey, if you want pissed off customers who feel like their mental illness is invalidated by your product, all the power to you! You won’t be getting any of my money.

Mental health is important, whether its something you personally deal with, or you know someone who deals with it. We all need to work together to reduce the stigma around mental illness and help teach the people (and the companies) around us what is right and wrong. Target, this is wrong. Your move.

Till next time, 

Katie

One thought on “Is Mental Illness a Fashion Statement?

Leave a Reply

