Let’s Talk About…Not Feeling Good Enough

It’s 8pm on a Friday. I’ve been sitting at my desk for 2 hours with no idea what to write about. I don’t have any makeup tips today, funny stories, or advice. All I have is doubt. Doubting my videos, my blog posts, everything I’ve ever created for That Geek Online and anything I ever will create. It’s shitty, and it makes me sad.

I’ve been caught in a content rut since SFC September. SFC September went SO well, because of other women. The amazing women doing the interviews provided content for a few weeks and when it was over….it was just me. This blog is, at the end of the day, just me. I’ve forgotten how to put myself 100% out there, and it’s not fair to you, me, or anyone if I fake my way through blog posts. So here it is, me…putting ME back into the posts. Hi, hello, my name is Katie and I’m not usually this sappy and dramatic, I promise. So for today, let’s just talk. Talk about something I think everyone deals with; not feeling good enough. 

Whether its in your career, a relationship, or a family situation, we have all felt lesser than others at some point. It’s not your fault that you compare yourself to others, because it’s what we know. There is a countless amount of media out there TELLING you to feel bad about yourself.

“Do you feel fat? Try this workout plan! This diet pill! This celebrity meal plan!”

“That acne of yours is pretty gross, you should buy this concealer.”

“OOOOOH! You have a crush on a boy? Dye your hair blonde with this box dye, he’ll definitely like you then!”

I’m calling bullshit on all the things. All this “put you down” marketing because it instills the idea that we can not be happy with ourselves, flaws and all. I can’t look at a successful blogger without thinking my blog is awful. Or a famous YouTuber without thinking that everything I’m doing is wrong. Thinking that this amazing, fun little internet home of mine is a waste of my time.

So what next? How do you get rid of this crappy feeling? Reevaluate why you are doing what you are doing and why you’re awesome at it. Chances are, you are just (like me) having a random meltdown and everything is fine. If everything isn’t fine and the times you doubt your content outweigh the times you look at it and go “fuck yeah!”, maybe its time to try something different.

I’m going to be okay, this blog is going places and I know it but wow, it felt nice to vent in this post. Maybe I’ll do more of these Lets Talk posts, because no matter what’s going on in your brain, you aren’t alone! Oh, and you are good enough.

Thanks for reading my little rant/vent/advice(?) post.

Till next time,

Katie

One thought on “Let’s Talk About…Not Feeling Good Enough

  1. Katie,
    Thanks for sharing something that goes unspoken. We all need to stop comparing ourselves to others. The people who you tare in constant comparison with have no doubt faced equal or larger failure in their life. So don’t let them make you feel inferior. Stop making yourself feel inadequate and focus on you. Focus on the success you have achieved and be insanely proud of it. Sure, you can use other’s achievements to drive your inspiration. However you need to find inspiration without comparison.
    Take a look at my blog about confidence building – I have a good feeling you will pick up some ways to stop you feeling like your not good enough – because you are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

