Interviewing Myself | SFC September

The final interview for SFC September is with myself, woooooah. I wanted to offer my insight on being a strong female and be a part of my own series, that just makes sense….I think. Also it’s like a “DOOOON’T YOU FORGET ABOUT MEEE”, because the interviewees may have only been here for one post, but you guys are stuck with me. Sorry about that.

12042885_868089103288087_8753615466067466922_n

But before I get into this, I want to say a HUGE thank you to every other amazing woman who has been a part of this series. It wouldn’t have been the same without your stories and your advice. You truly are some amazing strong female characters. 


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

You guys know me! I run this blog and a YouTube channel, where I combine my geekiness with beauty and help women embrace their inner/outer beauty.

What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?

I think my greatest strength is the fact that I’m an extrovert. I am a total people person, always striving to connect with new people and form relationships, whether they are professional or personal. This has helped me so much in creating ThatGeekOnline because I care a lot about interacting with each and every one of you. I hope that when you read these posts, it feels like we are just chatting over coffee about makeup and geeky things.

What do you “geek out” over?

Well first of all, How I Met Your Mother. Not a normal “geek” thing, but it is my OBSESSION. I watch it (well, listen to it, it’s background noise), listen to related podcasts, and I even have a HIMYM tattoo! Other geeky favorites include Star Trek, Sanctuary, Diablo, and celebrity autobiographies.

How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?

I’m a beauty guru, so I do wear makeup on a pretty regular basis, which makes me feel feminine. In addition to this, I never wear pants. If I’m not at work, I am in a dress/skirt because lets face it, pants are stupid.

Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?

YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW. So funny story, I worked at a makeup store for a year and a half, run by five men and I swear, I have never felt more small! Being in a place where I had to be “pretty” and I wasn’t in charge made me feel powerless, and as if I wasn’t worth as much because I was just the salesperson, couldn’t deal with the business side of things. I ended up being a manager for a year, and I rocked it, so yeah, being pretty and powerful can go hand in hand. It’s ridiculous that we even have to still talk about these things.

Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?

Well my mom, of course, because as much as I made fun of it as a teen, she is a huge geek. It rubbed off on me, and well…here we are. Other role models are Sam Maggs (who I did an interview with, check it out here), Demi Lovato, and more recently, Felicia Day! I just finished her book and I am obsessed with her work in the internet world. GEEK GIRLS UNITE!

How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?

I had someone tell me once that I didn’t really like Star Wars, I was just pretending in order to get guys. Why would I force myself to watch 6 films and spend money on film related things, if I could just show more cleavage instead. #LOGIC

I get so many people asking me if I am a real geek, questioning the work I do, questioning my nerdiness just because I am a girl. And the fact that most of this blog is about makeup doesn’t help. What’s girlier than makeup? You can’t be a geek girl and wear eyeshadow too! That’s BLASPHEMY! I I decided that embracing my femininity and my love for makeup has helped me leaps and bounds in the nerd world. “Why yes, I am a geeky makeup guru, let me help with your cosplay!” How often do you hear that? It feels kind of awesome to have my girly and nerdy corner of the internet.

What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female?

Fuck ’em! For real! You are the first and last you that will ever inhabit this Earth and you deserve to feel beautiful while you do the things you love. You want to wear a strong winged liner and study science? I support you! Red lips and you’re writing a graphic novel? You kick ass! We express ourselves in so many ways, why can’t cosmetics be one of those ways?

I believe that you will do great things, and when you believe that too, it becomes true. I know each and every one of you have gone through difficult things and you are still here, meaning you are strong. Believe that you are a strong female, and you will become the strong female character of your story, up there with Janeway and Knope. Go show the world what you’re made of.


That’s it, folks! That’s the end of SFC September. Where did the time go? Thank you to everyone who was a part of this, all the interviewees and YOU, the readers! I couldn’t have asked for a more inspiring group to write for! Even though this series is over, it’s just the beginning for this blog. So much more great content and so many more posts interacting with all of you! Get excited, because it is going to be so much fun. And if you just got here, HELLO, follow this blog! Because I appreciate it!

Till next time,
Katie

One thought on “Interviewing Myself | SFC September

  1. Well said damnit! xD As a game design graduate with an interest in clothes (when I’m not in pyjamas) and make-up (when I’m not running later than the White Rabbit) I totally feel you. I hate when people limit others… *mutters* ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

