Zoe Foster Interview | SFC September

Hello lovelies! So we are nearing the end of SFC September, but before this series comes to a close, I have a few more interviews for you. Today’s interview is with Zoe Foster, an amazing woman I met through the Beautiful Bellavistas. I’m so excited for all of you to be able to get to know Zoe at the same time that I get to know her. I can’t wait to hopefully collaborate with Zoe again on something in the future, but for now, here is her SFC September interview!


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
I am an adventurous introvert with a Big Vision for myself, my family and the world at large. As a writer, Life Energy Alchemist and yoga teacher, I am passionate about empowering women to live a vibrant, healthful and truly magical life – and I believe everyone has the capacity to do this, whatever their situation!
unnamed
What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?
Firstly, I am super resilient. I am pretty amazed at the things I’ve pulled through in life, especially in the last few years alone. I think this has the ability to inspire others and I’ve been blessed with the opportunities in my life and work to share my story, and what I’ve learned, to help other women begin to reclaim their own power.

Secondly, I can see the bigger picture very clearly – for individuals as well as for our current psychosocial welfare. This motivates me to help people who feel STUCK move towards their own bigger vision. In my work I essentially share the details of the most comprehensive, empowering model of personal growth I believe there is, and give practical, down-to-earth tools and techniques for each and every client to begin that journey for themselves, all the while providing the support and inspiration they need.

 

What do you “geek out” over? 
Chocolate! Real food and making delicious things in minutes with very basic, wholefood ingredients. Travel, adventure and picnics. The lives and work of famous creators. The interplay of art, science and ancient philosophy and how this is realized in our everyday lives, from moment to moment and decade to decade. The fallibility of “realism” versus the intangible and incomprehensible miracles of “possibility”…
How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?
I have always aspired to be a kind of 1930s heroine: strong, passionate and graceful. Above all I believe in being graceful – not just in body, but in mind and spirit. Being “graceful” for me extends to my attitude towards others, and how I treat them. I feel this concept embraces a lot of values which are dwindling in today’s society, and it is part of my mission to reinstate and reinforce this, for the greater empowerment of us all.
Externally, I love to wear styles of clothing which really mirror my personality. I’m pretty eclectic and would say I’m a kind of vintage boho lady, with a bit of circus girl thrown in. I particularly love petticoats and cotton/lace items and anything very vintage-fitted-and-floaty! On a daily basis, however, I keep things pretty plain overall. Although I love make-up and jewellery, my illness really taught me to appreciate the bare me underneath it all. Often I still don’t like what I see in the mirror (and how my illness affected my skin and hair), but the more I go out without make-up (or with very little e.g. just eyebrows!), the more comfortable I feel. I believe this is true femininity – embracing who you are, inside and out, and living from that centred and expanded place.
Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?
I think generally the idea of acting from a more heart-centred stance is becoming more acceptable. However it can still be seen as weak or ineffective, and I believe it’s our job as strong women to patiently move through this 80s-powersuit-wearing masculine energy and show just how much strength, determination, and power one can really have – regardless of gender! – from this space.
I actually don’t come across this situation very often now, because I’ve learned not to feel disempowered when faced with that masculine energy. I love to see how I can displace that energy with my own, heart-centred approach. Plus, when you’ve used these tools to survive a horrendous illness without medical help, get through an emotionally traumatic late miscarriage and near-fatal haemorrhaging, and naturally home-birth 2 extremely healthy babies against all odds, it’s easy to stand strong in your femininity, whatever anyone says!
Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?
Oh goodness there are so many worthy of mention! But certainly over the last couple of years my biggest influence has been Elizabeth Gilbert. She embodies all of the values I hold so dear, and she’s also incredibly real, down-to-earth and kind of goofy! I love that – it shows that we don’t need to lose our personality in the slightest when we focus on personal growth; instead, it allows us to become MORE of who we really are, and stand proud in that!
How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?
Not really, I have to say, but then I’ve ALWAYS been a tomboy at heart. I’ve always had a go at everything, from mending plugs to pushing our camper van out of a ditch (whilst pregnant!). My husband knows that if something isn’t getting done quickly enough for my liking, I’ll go and do it myself! I’ve always been like this, and it has infuriated the men in my life! But that’s just who I am – no limits. Take me as you find me!
I remember travelling through Eastern Europe alone when I was 18 and people kept telling me to be careful. While I totally agree with their well-meaning (especially with a growing daughter who is clearly following in my footsteps!), I think there are much more empowering ways to express this. What about showing your enthusiasm, excitement and support, giving first class tips for success (rather than “how to avoid being raped or mugged” – ugh!) and sharing ideas, inspiration and positive personal stories? This is what we need a LOT more of in our culture if we are ever to feel empowered as women.
What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female? 
Just trust yourself. Easier said than done, I know, but the more you tune into yourself, the stronger that inner voice gets – and begins to drown out the voice of ego, fear and doubt. Often you need to stretch yourself, to deliberately take bold steps, to begin to stand tall in your own power. And know that failure is a totally normal part of your journey! It doesn’t have to be a negative experience, but simply a stepping stone to your own greatness.

Never give up. Honour yourself. Learn to move with grace and patient determination rather than pushing hard. Know that you can be anything you want to be, as long as it’s in alignment with your core self. This is where your unwavering strength comes from! Thanks so much Katie!


How cool is she? I loved having Zoe a part of this series, and I hope you enjoyed reading this post. If you did, give this post a like!
If you want to hear more from Zoe, check out her podcast The Alchemist’s Notebook. It is AH-MAZING. Okay, I’m done fangirling now.
Till next time,
Katie
Leave a Reply

