Sam Maggs Interview | SFC September

Okay folks. This is one of the last interviews for SFC September and we are ending it with a bang. At the beginning this series, I reached out to one of my role models. My heart was POUNDING while I wrote the email and I thought, there is no way she will respond. WELL she did, and I am so excited to share my short and sweet interview with Sam Maggs, author of Fangirl’s Guide To The Galaxy.


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
I’m the author of The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy, the host of the Cineplex Pre-Show, and a freelance writer and televisioner.

10946233_1410826129211836_814450352_n

What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?
I think it’s sticktoitiveness. It can be easy to feel downtrodden in a non-traditional industry; there’s no direct path to success. You just have to keep creating and keep putting yourself out there.
What do you “geek out” over?Β 

Right now I’m in a huge Dragon Age and Mass Effect phase. I can’t get enough.

 

How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?
I like to dress nerdy but with a cute twist! Clothes from places like Her Universe and We Love Fine are the best.
Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?
Absolutely! I find that just being any kind of lady and walking into a video game or comic book store, people can pre-judge you or treat you differently. But if you ever walk into a shop and that happens, walk right out – there are tons of shops with Valkyries (female comic shop employees) who will welcome you.
Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?
Felicia Day and Amanda Tapping and Hayley Atwell are the best. I admire their eloquence and entrepreneurial spirit and the way they speak up for other women in the industry.
How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?
For sure! I just don’t talk to them anymore. They don’t deserve my time.
What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female?
You’ll be a million times happier if you accept yourself and love what you love. There are great communities of women online and IRL just waiting to accept you!

I am fangirling SO HARD right now! Thank you, Sam, for being a part of SFC September! It was so lovely to interview you for this series. If you want to see more of Sam, you can do so on her website sammaggs.com

Till next time,

Katie

 

T.

Leave a Reply

