Isabelle Rizo Interview | SFC September

Hi friends! So it’s always fun when you get to interview someone who is actually one of your role models. I have the pleasure of doing a couple of those this month, starting with this lovely lady. I met Isabelle Rizo at a convention just outside of Chicago, and have been lucky enough to chat with her and be part of her Facebook group, the Beautiful Bellavistas. She is such a lovely lady, who expresses her femininity while running her own business. I am so excited to introduce you to Isabelle with this interview.

If you enjoy this post, please like it!


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

I’m a wanderlusting lady that likes to explore cultures, amazing design, psychology, the singularity, and all things human experience.

11402338_10153467120721424_1670247616701875417_o

What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?

My greatest strength is seeing the future vision and the best possibility in others. I give others the strategy to become their true and big awesome selves through teaching, consulting, and making the big future vision clear.

What do you “geek out” over? 

Public Relations, Communication, Psychology, Social Media, Travel, Outer Space, Symphony of Science, Branding, Design, Film, Web Analytics, and Personal Development.

How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?

I think this depends on how you define femininity. For me it means being delicate, intentional, holding space, being creative, being loving, and honoring the self.
I do this in my life and my business.
Honoring self means putting up boundaries and respecting those boundaries for yourself.
I saw a great quote that said “In a list of things that you love, how long would it take to say you love yourself?”
I love dresses. I love lipstick. I love self-expression. I like doing things that feel good. I cry and I’m not ashamed (I used to be). I allow myself to feel deeply and love fully. I am proud of the fact that I can carry the possibility of a life inside me and also create life around me.
I think masculinity is the go-getter attitude, the pushing through the hard stuff, and the competitive edge.
I prefer the collaborative edge 😉
Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?
Absolutely. Especially in the male dominated business world. Also I realize that with men you’ve gotta be direct and to the point – which can seem harsh and terse. Wheras with women we share out feelings, we have a deeper empathy, and we bring that into business.
Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?

My mom – she has the best fashion sense and eye for design.Leonie Dawson has inspired me to become an entrepreneur, embrace my spiritual self, and grow. Jill Bolt Taylor who inspired me with her book A Stroke of Insight and as a female scientist – we need more of that. Jen Sincero for her lightheartedness and silliness. Eleanor Gheith for believing in me, teaching me about self care, and holding space to just be like no other soul sister I know. Camille Wu for teaching me that it’s okay to feel. Makenna Johnston for keeping me focused and connected to my body. And there are so many more…

How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?
Totally. When I told people I’m going to travel around the world by myself immediately I was told – You’ll Get Taken! *cue dramatic music* also you don’t know how to run a business – or you don’t run business that way. I’ve got my own style of doing things and that’s okay.
What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female?
Know that your emotions, interests, and dreams are just as valid as any guys’ – if not more so. We as females for thousands of years have been the caught, the subservient, and the brunt of the raped and pillaged.
We’ve evolved beyond that – where men and women can communicate effectively and complement each other. The driving male force with the female charm and intellectual capacity call for an amazing duo.


Isn’t she incredible? Thank you again to Isabelle for doing this interview as a part of SFC September. If you want to see more of her work, you can do that on http://www.thebellavie.com.

Till next time,
Katie
Leave a Reply

