Rhiannon Melvin Interview | SFC September

Hi lovelies! SO today I am back with another interview, with one of my closest YouTube friends, Rhiannon Melvin. I’m so excited to introduce you all to Rhiannon because her content is incredible! She spends so much time on her videos, and deserves COUNTLESS more subscribers, so go check out her channel here.

Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
 Hi, my name’s Rhiannon, and I create content on YouTube, while attending my first year of University for Global Business and Digital Arts! I enjoy travelling the world, and capturing the beauty of the world through my camera lens!
 11800317_10203762180569828_6188135779571089447_n
What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?
I don’t know about it being the greatest strength that I currently have, but I definitely would like it to be one of my greatest strengths in the future, if not already. I love to make people feel all sorts of strong emotions when they watch my videos, or see what I’m doing in my life. Whether it be helping others to see the beauty of a small bee pollenating a flower, or inspiring them to go out and travel the world themselves and make a change, I hope that my content can be the thing that sparks emotion and passion in someone.
What do you “geek out” over? 
I’m an all or nothing type of person. If I enjoy anything at all, I will usually geek out over it. Whether it be Doctor Who or Minecraft, the technology inside a working camera, or more recently, cars and how their engines work, I usually can get pretty into it.
How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?

I find that I don’t really express femininity, but rather myself and my personality. Whether or not it is seen as expressing femininity, that’s up to everyone else. Sometimes I like to dress up with a nice summer dress, tie my hair back, and put a little makeup on, but other times, I would rather cuddle under a blanket with a cup of tea and watch netflix. I think that both can be seen as an expression of femininity.

 

Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?
Yes and no. I believe that it depends on the situation. Some people I find will put you down no matter what. For example, if you are a female who skateboards. There is always one person who says thag girls can’t skateboard as well as guys, or that girls just shouldn’t be on a skateboard in general. But then again, there is always someone else who thinks that it’s cool and attractive when girls skateboard. It’s all a matter of opinion.
Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?
I think that Jessie J has always been a strong female role model for me. I love how she never holds anything back, and uses her powerful voice and talent to push her femininity and promote self-confidence and the female entity. I used to be very much into singing, and Jessie’s music and her voice not only helped me to evolve my singing voice and music skills, but she helped to evolve me as a person – bringing out my more confident side, and teaching me to be a stronger person, inside and out.
How do you deal with people saying you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?
I have only encountered this situation once in my life, and it honestly infuriated me very much. I was a cashier at a grocery store, and wanted to have a change in jobs, but stay within the company. I spoke with my manager on the subject of becoming a “cart handler”, or the person who brings the shopping carts in from the parking lot, changes the garbages, cleans the store and bathrooms, etc. I was told that only males were allowed to do this job, and was not given another proper reason as to why. I asked other female employees, some of whom said that they had applied and gotten the same response, and we found that we all felt very discriminated against.
What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female?
I would say “own it girl!”. Ever since I have learned to love myself and be a more confident person, my life has drastically changed. I’ve made more friends, I’ve travelled the world, I’ve bettered my YouTube channel, I’ve bettered myself, I’ve become closer with my family, I’ve met my new boyfriend whom I love dearly, and most importantly, I’m enjoying life! I honestly wish that I had done it sooner, and I encourage everyone out there to learn to love themselves and not care about what others think. Anything is possible. You can do whatever you put your mind to, and you can be whoever you want to be, and never take anyone else’s bullshit! Own it, and just be you! 🙂

I love having my YouTube/blogging friends a part of this series! It’s SO awesome to celebrate the amazing women in my life. Please give Rhiannon some love by liking this post, and follow for more great interviews/tutorials.

Till next time,
Katie
Leave a Reply

