Camille Wu Interview | SFC September

Hi again, lovely human beings of the internet! So today I have another amazing interview for SFC September, with someone whom I ADORE and I wish she lived closer to me. I met Camille Wu through a Facebook group and she has inspired me so much and given me encouragement when I doubted myself. I am so excited to share Camille’s interview with you and if you enjoyed it, please give this post a like!


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.
My name’s Camille Wu, I’m a born and bred Londoner from a multicultural background. I was diagnosed with MS as a young teen and went on a journey trying to figure out why and how I could get better without a label of “incurable” and “degenerative” and found lots of different ways. I met a man who told me “mind over matter”  so I got going and I was incredibly lucky to travel to Peru in my search. I’ve studied a mixture of eastern and western techniques. Now I’ve transferred the skills that I learnt and work with female entrepreneurs (and sometimes male!) on transforming their mindsets.
CAMILLE
 
What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?
My greatest strength is probably my own knowledge from the journey that I’ve been on and thus the empathy that I have. And the fact I tend to never give up (sorry there’s two, I couldn’t choose – you can edit one out!)
What do you “geek out” over?
Seeing the patterns, helping people weed out the knots in their own head, neuroscience, innovation on mental health (haha such a weird passion of mine) learning all the time, different cultural ways of thinking, Coldplay (I’ve been a fan since i was 11 and I can’t seem to stop being loyal) health things – Colostrum is my new favourite thing. I geek out over the weirdest things. I wish I could say shoes but it just ain’t so.
How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?
Lately, it’s been in cooking meals for my little entrepreneurial family. I cook a big hearty meal and we sit at the dinner table together – it brings a sense of “home” for me, and family which seem very feminine to me.
Also in my job, I hold space for people when they are in pain or fear and touch them (if it’s appropriate!) I daydream about having a big fancy wedding with my fiance full of family and friends and to me, that’s the little girl inside of me – and I love her! I dance, I sing… Oh I’m just realising how feminine I am (I always thought I was boyish haha)
Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?
Sometimes I find that “vulnerability” is seen as being weak, tears especially. Sometimes if I cry, I get negatively bashed! And then I try and hold them back. I definitely felt growing up that being “feminine” was a weakness. And that’s definitely changing now, at least in my world and the people I hang out with. I know i could always choose to go back and be around people who bash femininity again – whatever you look for, you will find!
Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?
Maya Angelou and Ellen Degeneres. They have shown me that there is better after such pain and struggle and that you can transform those things into inspiration and positivity. Eve Ensler because she’s smart, funny and talks about feminism in a way I can relate to. I admire my own mother’s ability too, she’s been through a lot (what mother hasn’t, eh?) and I admire how she still loves and has compassion. She’s also hilariously French and dramatic and I like to think I got a mixture of her empathy and comedic ways.
How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?
I laugh! Sometimes I may feel hurt, and I used to feel very hurt when I was younger. I actually realised this recently when playing a game with a group of male friends. I know in the past I put myself down and made myself out to be dumber/worse than I am because I was met with resistance for winning against boys in the past. I know there are prejudices against women but I try to look at the women who have gone ahead anyway. If you carry on believing you can’t succeed, you won’t. People who say those things must limit themselves too if they limit a whole gender.
What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female?
If it’s not safe to express who you are, be wise about that. Sometimes I find people want to rebel but they aren’t grounded and end up “reacting” and causing themselves more misery. All those articles about “being your authentic self” are great – just be wise about who you’re dealing with okay?! If you feel like you are not surrounded by people who accept you, get online and start connecting with people like you on the internet. Phone a charity like the Samaritans where you can talk to someone who will listen. Learn a technique called EFT which helps you process your emotions so they don’t get stuck!

She’s so lovely, isn’t she? If you want to learn more about Camille and Camisiology, you can do so on her website; http://www.camisiology.com/. Thank you for doing this interview, Camille. SO many more awesome interviews to share with you guys, so give the blog a follow if you haven’t already!

Till next time,
Katie
Leave a Reply

