Jennifer Hill Interview | SFC September

Hi lovelies! So in addition to the tutorials, I thought it would be fun to celebrate some real, strong, feminine women in SFC September. So all month, I will have little interviews going up with some people who inspire me in real life. I hope you guys enjoy these as much as I enjoy getting to write them for you! Also, be sure to give the interviewees some love by liking this post!

The first lovely lady I got to interview was Jennifer Hill, who is actually one of my best friends from when I lived up north (all my other friends were polar bears, okay?). She is currently attending college to be an esthetician and inspires me every day with her bravery and artistic skill with makeup.


Tell the readers a bit about yourself.

I’m a freshman in college, I’m a nerd, I can’t dance, I’m 18, my name is Jen.

What do you think is the greatest strength you have, and how do you bring that out in the work you do?

I’m artistic and friendly. I work with people in doing their makeup/esthetics stuff.

What do you “geek out” over?
American Horror Story, makeup, many other things that no one really cares about tbh.
How do you express your femininity on a daily basis?
Makeup. Wearing a bra even though I don’t want to. All the usual.

Do you find you are treated differently when you act more feminine? As if you can’t be strong and powerful?

Not especially. I’m treated that way normally because I’m socially awkward.

Who are your biggest female role models? How have they helped shape who you are today?

The YouTuber shaaanxo, my best friend Katie, myself because you should always self love. Shaaanxo because she’s so incredibly talented and works so hard. Katie because she’s so kind and helpful. Myself because I work so hard. (Editors Note: Jen is the sweetest.)

11018582_10153379504035399_6558230161294815286_n

How do you deal with people you can’t like things “because you are a girl”? Have you encountered this?

I’ve never surrounded myself with sexist jerks, so most people have been very okay with my gender.

What advice would you give to young women who are afraid to express who feel like they can’t be a strong female? 

Being yourself is being a strong female. Just do you, it’s hard and scary, but the only way to change the world is to be the change.


She’s a woman of very few words but I love her nonetheless. Good luck in college, Jen! I know you will do amazing and kick serious makeup butt.

Till next time,
Katie


Leave a Reply

